• General Grant Information

    (Please read prior to writing a grant for submission.)

     

    Grants Categories:
    1.       Mini Grants; ongoing and awarded monthly:

      • Up to $500 awarded for a classroom
      • Grade Level or Department
    1. Elementary (grades PreK-6) - Up to $2,100 awarded for programs that include all students in a grade level or for an entire department
    2. Secondary (grades 7-12) - Up to $2,500 for programs that include all students in a grade level or for an entire department
    1. Partnership Grants; ongoing, awarded monthly, must have at least one additional funding source (partner) to cover at least ⅓ of the total amount being requested
    2. First Lady of the Foundation Grants; for amounts that are more than a mini grant, granted during the fall of the year
    3. Excellence Grants; $500 to $2,500 awarded annually (usually in January) for special projects granted
    4. Blue Ribbon Grants; $2,500 to $7,500 awarded annually (usually in January) for special projects or events of enduring value

     

    Online Submission Cutoff

    Grants Committee Meeting

    Trustee’s Meeting

    Wed., Aug. 24

    Tues, Aug. 30

    Wed., Aug. 31

    Wed., Sept. 21

    Tues., Sept. 27

    Thurs., Sept. 29

    Wed., Oct. 19
    Including First Lady Grants

    Mon., Oct. 24

    Wed., Oct. 26

    Wed., Nov. 16

    Mon., Nov. 21

    Tues., Nov. 22

    Wed., Dec. 14

    Mon., Dec. 19

    Wed., Dec. 21

    Fri., Jan. 6
    Including Excellence and Blue Ribbon Grants

    Mon., Jan. 16

    Wed., Jan. 18

    Tues., Feb. 8

    Mon., Feb. 13

    Wed., Feb. 15

    Wed., Mar. 8

    Mon., Mar. 13

    Wed., Mar. 15

    Wed., Apr. 5

    Mon., Apr. 10

    Wed., Apr. 12

    Wed., May. 10

    Mon., May. 15

    Wed., May. 17

    Wed., Jun. 7

    Mon., Jun. 12

    Wed., Jun. 14

     

    The Foundation’s mission is to enhance and enrich the curriculum for the students in the East Brunswick Public School District. It is important to note that the EBEF does not typically fund:

    • Projects or programs that should otherwise be part of the District’s annual budget. For example, updating materials is critical to imparting the curriculum and therefore the Foundation does not consider such requests an enhancement.
    • Transportation for field trips. While a request for tickets to a performance or a museum might be approved, transportation to said venue should not be part of the budget request.
    • The cost of food for trips or celebrations.
    • The cost for awards for completing a project.
    • Requests for professional development activities.
    • More than two grants that are the same.
    • Furniture for teachers.

     

    Also noteworthy:

    • The Grants Committee has a purchasing arm that is responsible for securing the majority of items requested in grants that are approved. Caveats include:
      • Approved grants that involve the purchase of technology and/or other more sophisticated educational items will continue to be funded by the EBEF, but will be purchased through the kindness of the District’s Financial Services Department. This process will ensure that all warranties and guarantees apply.
      • For approved grants that include fees for outside presenters (i.e. authors, museum programs, etc.), the EBEF treasurer will provide a check, made out to the presenter for the specified amount, to the teacher prior to the scheduled event.
    • Under no circumstances should a grant recipient make purchases and expect reimbursement for requested items.
    • Grant recipients are asked to follow-up with the Grants Committee when their projects commence as per below:
      • For accounting purposes, email Lisa Ruggiero and Trish LaDuca upon receipt of the items that you requested.
      • Share pictures of your project in action that may be used in future Foundation publicity. Send photos digitally to Trish LaDuca and commrel@ebnet.org.
      • Acknowledge the East Brunswick Education Foundation in communications with the educational community (parents/students/colleagues).

     

    About the East Brunswick Education Foundation Student Association (EBEF SA): The EBEF SA fundraises for and awards grants to extracurricular organizations. While the student association's focus is on supporting extracurricular activities at the secondary level, they will also review and award amounts up to $100 for elementary projects that they deem worthy. In order to receive funding from the EBEF SA the grants should be written by students (with the help of their advisors).

     

     

    Revised Sept 2022

    Grant App