• Louis D. Figueroa, Assistant Superintendent
    Danielle Blalock, Supervisor of Student Services
    Mrs. Celestine Woods, Secretary
    (732) 613-6635

    Student Assistance Specialist Monthly Newsletter


    The school system has a comprehensive program that includes a Student Assistance Committee in each school. Students who are having difficulty in school may be referred to the committee by staff members or parents. They also may refer themselves for assistance. Each committee, co-chaired by the principal and the student assistance specialist, includes the school nurse, the referring teacher, various specialists (i.e., child study team, reading, mathematics) and in grades 6-12 several teacher consultants and a school counselor. The varied and combined talents of the people on the committee are put to use in the development of strategies to help the students. The committee also may refer students to the child study team for review and possible evaluation.

    There are eight student assistance specialists in the eight elementary schools and and a total of five student assistance specialists in the three secondary schools. One of the five is directly responsible for interventions with students and families affected by substance abuse. All of the specialists work with students at-risk in terms of substance abuse, depression, and suicide or child abuse. All student assistance specialists meet with students throughout the year both individually and also in small groups. The meetings focus on the individual needs of students. Specialists also serve as resource persons for staff members, parents and students.


    School Name School Phone # extension E-Mail
    Bowne-Munro Ivy Schwam


    6815 ISCHWAM@ebnet.org
    Central Sara Enis


    6618 SENIS@ebnet.org
    Chittick Laurie Eitel


    6638 LEITEL@ebnet.org
    Frost Nancy Kaboski


    6601 NKABOSKI@ebnet.org
    Irwin Lorri Goldberg


    6647 LGOLDBERG@ebnet.org
    Lawrence Brook

    Rachel Weitzenkorn


    6876 RWEITZENKORN@ebnet.org
    Memorial Melissa Wall



    Warnsdorfer Erinn Carroll


    6632 ECARROLL@ebnet.org
    Hammarskjold Middle School Peggy Haas


    6879 MHAAS@ebnet.org
    Hammarskjold Middle School Tiffany Papp 732-613-6890 6619 TPAPP@ebnet.org
    Churchill Junior High Melissa Barna


    0920 MBARNA@ebnet.org
    Churchill Junior High

    Leigh Ann Young


    0932 LYOUNG@ebnet.org
    East Brunswick High School Ileana Knable


    6959 IKNABLE@ebnet.org
    East Brunswick High School Jenna Ruditsky 732-613-6900 6717 JRUDITSKY@ebnet.org